About MIG

We believe that the environment around us has a profound impact on our lives. We plan, design and sustain environments that support human development.

areas of expertise

Our History

We are a community of designers, planners, engineers, scientists and storytellers engaging, involving and acting with people in creative problem solving.

We believe...

Communities can plan their own futures.
Inclusive and participatory planning always results in better policies, projects and programs.
Elegant design inspires new thinking.
Design is not our end goal—our end goal is to connect people to each other.
All built work should be context driven.
Great places reflect the community’s culture, history, geography—and aspirations.
is always
a given.
Every person has a right to fully participate in the built environment.
The world needs an ecological perspective.
Carefully designed environments require holistic, evidence-based research and analysis.
Great projects add value beyond the project.
Thriving neighborhoods and communities can improve everyone’s life.

How We Work



Dan Amsden

Director of Sacramento Operations

Barbara Beard

Director of Environmental Analysis

Russell Brady

Director of Planning Services

Amy Bridge

Director of Strategic Development

Lisa Brownfield

Director of Planning Services

Steve Burke

Director of Major Infrastructure

Jon Campbell

Director of GeoSpatial Resources

Ed Canalin

Art Director

Tim Carroll

Director of Social Marketing

Allison CraigSundine

Director of Exhibit Design

Mark Davies

Director of Infrastructure Design Services

Chris Dugan

Director of Air Quality, Greenhouse Gas, and Noise Services

Jacob Dumler

Director of Experience Design

Alex Dupey

Director of Planning Services

Roxanne Evanoff

Director of Human Resources

Ellie Fiore

Director of Planning Services

Michelle Gibbs

Director of Environmental Analysis

Kathy Gwilym

Director of Quality Assurance

Erica Heller

Director of Strategic and Policy Planning

Jennifer Isacoff

Director of Landscape Architecture

Kate Joncas

Director of Urban Strategy and Development

Jamillah Jordan

Director of Equity Studio

Steve Kokotas

Director of Technology

Richard Larson

Director of QA/QC

Jose de Jesus Leal

Director of Sacramento Operations

Brice Maryman

Director of Landscape Architecture

Laurie Matthews

Director of Preservation Planning

Deirdre McCollister

Director of Entitlement Services

Cindy Mendoza

Director of Parks and Recreation

Chase Mullen

Director of Design Visualization

Amy Parravano

Director of Biological Services

Andy Pendoley

Director of Planning and Community Engagement

Ray Pendro

Director of Environmental Planning

Taylor Peterson

Director of Biological Analysis

Chris Purtell

Director of Cultural Resources

Johanna Schorr

Director of Architecture

Serena Sidmore

Director of Marketing

Adele Torreano

Director of Business Services

Rick Zimmer

Director of Planning Services